University of Akron School of Law

302 Buchtel Common, Akron, OH 44325 | Google Map

facebook | twitter |

Founded 1921 | ABA Accredited 1961

The University of Akron School of Law was founded in 1921 as the Akron School of Law and merged with the University of Akron in 1959, becoming fully accredited by the American Bar Association in 1961. Offering both the LL.M and J.D. degrees, the school has produced over 6,000 graduates who have gone on to careers in the private and public sectors. Located in the heart of Akron, just 45 minutes south of Cleveland, the University of Akron School of Law is home to the Joseph G. Miller and William C. Becker Institute for Professional Responsibility and The University of Akron Center for Constitutional Law, one of only four constitutional law centers established by Congress in the United States.

Akron Law School follows a traditional curriculum, with the aim of imparting a broad knowledge of substantive law while simultaneously cultivating the analytical skills essential to lawyering. Akron law also offers its students real courtroom experience through its clinical programs: Prisoner Legal Assistance Clinic, Street Law, New Business Legal Clinic (NBLC) and Trial Litigation Clinic, to name a few.


Alice M. Batchelder, Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit Deborah L. Cook, Justice for the Supreme Court of Ohio (1995-2003) & U.S. court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit Judge James S. Gwin, Federal judge on the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Ohio Don Plusquellic, Mayor of Akron




About Rankings Data

© 2017 LLC. All Rights Reserved. Release: LOCAL_20171019063023